RSS

Corne Du Diable

15 Jul

I purchased a six-pack of this while I was in Vancouver and when I was asked to show my ID, the checkout guy said, “you’ve come a long way to buy a beer from a place that’s far from here.” I bought the six-pack of beer because I liked the artwork on it and because it was an IPA, but had no idea that Brasserie Dieu du Ciel is brewed in Montreal, Canada.  When I drank the first bottle, I didn’t think much of it as I was expecting the hop bomb flavor, but this was completely opposite of it and I was faulting it because of it, but after each bottle I drank, it grew on me and I learned to appreciate the different flavor profile.

The aroma of this beer is unlike any IPA I’ve had.  Malt and spices are there with just enough hops.  Corne due Diable had a very nice malt backbone flavor with a hint of caramel sweetness and spices that reminded me of Thanksgiving.  There was a spice in it that I couldn’t discern; a spicy pepper like flavor, it could’ve been clove, cinnamon, or nutmeg and after each sip of the last beer I drank, this is what won me.  The hop was mild, but present and it wasn’t a citrus or piney flavor.

It’s a Canadian style IPA if you can call it that, not your typically aggressive west coast hop bombs I’ve come to love.  For this reason alone and for it being a novelty for my palate, I’m giving it 4 out of 5 beer caps.

Throw one back for me ~ cheers!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2012 in Empty Bottles

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Corne Du Diable

  1. Brea Brewing

    July 16, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    Horn of the Devil?

     

Leave a Reply

 
