RSS

I Homebrew

07 Jul

I gave homebrewing a shot and I have to say that I enjoyed every step of the process and I can’t wait to brew again.  I immediately thought about making things easy for me after I brewed the wheat ale, like buying a keg, buying a freezer and making a kegirator to have more than one beer ready to pour, etc, all things that would cost me money and take up space at home I currently don’t have, but it’s in the future plans. When I first tried the beer, I was happy with the body, but felt it needed a little something.  My expectations were high, but after drinking a few and also getting reaction from friends and family, I’m happy with the outcome of the beer.  Using my rating system, I’d give it 2 to 2.5 Beer Caps.  It had good hop flavor for a wheat beer with a good amount of citrus.  I’m planning on brewing it again as it was very low in alcohol; just great for these warm summer days.  My next beer will be an IPA, also from an extract kit, but shortly after the IPA, I’ll brew this one again before the summer is over and maybe get into putting my recipes together.

The brew is ready and I’m sterilizing the bottles.

Ready to get capped.

Five weeks later my Hvnlydlite Wheat Ale is ready, named after my wife.

Throw one back for me ~ cheers!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “I Homebrew

  1. James S.

    July 13, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    Awesome! Sounds like you’re one of those select homebrewers that was able to make a decent first batch (I was not). Congrats again, and keep that fermenter busy! -James S.

     
    • OmarKalifornia

      July 16, 2012 at 2:58 pm

      Thanks! I read a lot about that, how the first batch for many was not succesful. I brewed an IPA this Saturday and plan on brewing the American wheat again along with another saison, might put together a recipe for that one.

       
  2. Brea Brewing

    July 16, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    And where’s my bottle?

     

Leave a Reply

 
