RSS

Breakfast Stout

17 Feb

Stayed home from work today as I wasn’t feeling the drive and I’ve been pissed about not finding Pliny The Younger or just missed it incidents here in Los Angeles, but that’s another tale. It turned out to be a great morning as I had my tasty oatmeal pancakes with one of the best Oatmeal Stouts I’ve ever had and it’s from Founders Brewing; a Double Chocolate Coffee Oatmeal Stout. This is a beer I got in the birthday package, and I gotta tell ya, the pancakes and the beer tasted great and took my mind off of The Younger for a few hours.

Stout patiently waiting for the pancakes.

As soon as I opened the bottle I could smell the roasted coffee, the malt, no chocolate, but lots of alcohol and at 8.3 ABV it was definitely present. A lot of the stouts I’ve had recently have been thin, but this one had a great body to it and was creamy. Nice bitterness from the chocolate and coffee, but very little from the hop. I got a lot of roasted goodness from the coffee and chocolate; these two were the main ingredients you could taste along with the alcohol. The syrup I poured over the pancakes enhanced the malt in the beer and cut a bit of the alcohol aftertaste and burn, but even without the syrup, the flavor would’ve been great. You can taste the oatmeal in this beer, the first time I ever have in a beer of this style, but could’ve been the pancakes too.

Overall a great tasting beer, I have to agree with Beer Advocates 100 points, but here at cervezaplease, we give beer caps, and its going into the Five Beer Caps Hall of Fame. When I open my bed and breakfast, this is going to be at the top of the menu, Kalifornia Oatmeal Pancakes with a Breakfast Stout by Founders. Keep reading for an easy oatmeal pancakes recipe and you can pair with milk, coffee, or beer of course.

Oatmeal Pancake Recipe:

    • Makes four pancakes.
    • 2 bags of your favorite microwavable oatmeal
    • 3/4 cup of pancake mix
    • 1 pinch of salt
    • 1/2 cup of milk or water (or more), add a bit at a time and stop at your desired consistency
    • Mix all ingredients and you’re ready to rock and roll!

Oatmeal is ready.

Add the pancake mix.

Mix all the ingredients

One ladle of the mix for a big pancake.

Butter the pancake when you flip it.

I don’t have a sweet tooth so I prefer butter and just a bit of syrup.

Throw one back for me ~ cheers!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2012 in Empty Bottles, Five Beer Caps Club

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Breakfast Stout

  1. luv4bbq

    February 17, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    im with ya buddy….this is about the best coffee stout I have ever had. luckily we get alot of it here. another great one from Michigan is Bell’s Java Stout. very close to this one, but maybe a 4 capper…..ok ok….4 1/2 LOL….well looks like you had a fantastic morning…..

     
  2. Alicia

    March 10, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    Re-read this post just for the pancake part. Now I’m off to make breakfast and brew some coffee đŸ™‚

     
    • OmarKalifornia

      March 11, 2012 at 7:10 pm

      Hahaha! Glad the baker came to read my recipe.

       
  3. Caridad

    July 25, 2014 at 12:53 am

    I see a lot of interesting content on your website.
    You have to spend a lot of time writing, i know
    how to save you a lot of work, there is a tool that creates
    readable, SEO friendly articles in couple of minutes, just search in google – k2 unlimited
    content

     

Leave a Reply

 
