RSS

Black & Brew

24 Jan

I picked up a 12 pack at my local grocer for only $9.99, it was deal I couldn’t pass and I should’ve bought two as there were a few decent beers in the case and some that I really liked; you couldn’t go wrong for the price. I’m sure you’ve seen the Winter Classics variety pack and since doing research for this post, I learned it’s available during the months of November and December. The case of 12 includes two of each from, Boston Lager, Winter Lager, Holiday Porter, Old Fezziwig Ale, and their newest creations, Black & Brew and Chocolate Bock. I’ll be posting my thoughts on the Chocolate Bock in a few weeks.

Black and Brew is a Coffee Stout with a nice aroma of malt and bread notes, but I didn’t get any coffee aroma. A robust coffee flavor is prominent throughout, with a nice combination of chocolatey malt. There is a bitter finish to the beer from the roasted coffee. It has a nice body to it, really nice and creamy.

Here is my little one trying to get into my shot, lol.

This is a Four Beer Caps Stout that I truly enjoyed. The coffee and malt flavor combination really did it for me. I’ll be searching for this variety pack before the cold months are over. Just as I was finishing this post, I thought of a Stout Float; this would be great with a scoop of coffee or vanilla ice cream.

Throw one back for me ~ cheers!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 24, 2012 in Empty Bottles

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
