RSS

Second Annual Oktoberfest

18 Nov

Oktoberfest

A few of the participants.

The month of Oktober came and went. Sadly I didn’t get a chance to participate in any of the LA Beer Week events, but I was still able to host the 2nd Annual Oktoberfest at my place. This year I decided to have it the same day of the USC v Notre Dame football game. I and most of my friends root for the Irish, with only a few rooting for USC. It was an event full of beer and burgers and although I had fun, I think next year, we are going to host it on a day where a sporting event is not a distraction. We’ll get to sit and sip while talking about the beers and picking a definite winner like last year, oh and we can’t forget about some good food. This year for food, I decided to make a bratwurst burger with spicy kraut and gruyere cheese. They turned out to be like a slider, but it was great, we had enough food for everyone and leftovers.

I started my day with bacon preparing all the ingredients.

Just like last year, I asked everyone to bring a six pack or a few bombers of the same beer so we could all sample. This years event grew by four people, not a lot, but I think it will remain at about 11 members for the upcoming years.

Here are the burgers I made. I’ll post the recipe for the burgers below, I liked them, however I’ll say add mustard so the burger won’t be as dry. The recipe I found only asked for sauerkraut and nothing more, which made the burger buns a bit dry, however my grill skills were fantastic on the bratwurst patties no complains, haha! The event turned out great, full of friends, beer, and food – what more do you need?! I was so busy with the grill that I only managed to take pictures with my phone, but I captured the essence of event, beer, with a side of bratwurst burgers .

Bratwurst Burgers with Spicy Kraut and Gruyere.

Here are the burgers put together.

A day after; much better with mustard.

Lots of leftovers that I’m still drinking, even after people took some home.

Like I mentioned above, we didn’t sit and rate these, I handed a small paper for people to add the beer and rate it on a scale of 1 to 10. You can see there were a few favorites and others where they weren’t too imperessed by it.

La Citrouille Celeste (collaboration) 4 6
Sudwerk 7 7 7
Sam Adams Octoberfest 6 8
Hoptober 6 6
Kern River BC  Pumpkin Ale 0 2
Bootleggers 4 8 8
Paulaner 6 6
Stone 7
Weihanstephaner Festbier 7 7
Spaten 6 7
Blue Moon 6
Hofbrau 7 8
Ayinger 9
Rogue Maierfest 6

Below you’ll find the recipe for the bratwurst burgers. To make it easy for myself, I bought the bratwurst and removed them from casing. To get a nice size, you’ll want to use one and half bratwurst and mold into a patty, or follow recipe from scratch below.

Brat Spice Mix:

  • 2 tablespoons freshly ground white pepper
  • 2 teaspoons rubbed sage
  • 1 teaspoon ground mace
  • 1 teaspoon ground celery seed
  • 1 3/4 pounds pork shoulder, diced
  • 1/4 pound fat back, diced
  • 2 tablespoons kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon brat spice mix

Spicy Kraut:

  • 1 cup store-bought sauerkraut
  • 1 tablespoon diced bacon
  • 1/4 cup onion, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons white wine
  • 2 juniper berries, crushed
  • 1/4 teaspoon caraway seeds
  • 1/4 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 1 tablespoon garlic-chili paste

Garnish:

  • 8 slices gruyere cheese
  • 8 slices bacon, cooked
  • Large hamburger buns, toasted

Directions:

Combine all the spice mix ingredients.

To make the burgers: Toss the pork shoulder and fat back with the salt and the spice mix and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Grind through the coarse die of a grinder and form into 4 (8-ounce) patties.

To make the spicy kraut: Soak the store-bought kraut in water for 20 minutes, drain excess water. Render the bacon; add the onion and saute until translucent. Add white wine and cook off the alcohol. Add sauerkraut and spices and enough water to cover. Simmer for 1 hour. Cool. Mix in garlic-chili paste.

To assemble: Cook burger patties until medium-well. Melt 2 slices of cheeses on top of each patty. Place on toasted bun and top with spicy kraut.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2011 in Beer & Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Second Annual Oktoberfest

  1. Eat D. Puff

    November 18, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    Another great Oktoberfest! Can’t wait to see what’s on the menu next year. I think we’ll need some commemorative swag…

     
  2. OmarKalifornia

    November 24, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    I think we’ll have to do some t-shirts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
