RSS

Devils Elbow by Howe Sound Brewing

12 Jun


This is a brief review of Devils Elbow, an India Pale Ale by Howe Sound Brewing that I did over a month ago, but I’m just getting a chance to complete the write up on it. I saw this big fat bottle and it reminded me of a Caguama, which is a slang term in Mexico for a bottle shaped like this one as it resembles a loggerhead turtle.  I thought the silhouette on the label was from a surfer, but when I looked closely, it turned out to be a kayaker and a Canadian brew.  It’s from Squamish, British Columbia near Vancouver; I was surprised it was Canadian!  When I went online to learn more about the brewery I found a link on their page to an Inn that is adjacent to the brewery; this would be a perfect place to visit and drink, and when you want to take a break from drinking, you make your way to your bed next door. From their site – It is named for the dramatic grade 4 Devil’s Elbow rapid on the Elaho River, north of Squamish, BC, Canada.

This IPA was quite floral with lots of citrus and faint malt. Some bread notes were present in the flavor, alcohol burn, and definitely citrus with a bitter finish.  At 68 IBU’s I thought it was going to be very bitter, it wasn’t, but not a bad thing; have I developed a tolerance for bitterness?  The light carbonation made this a smooth ale to drink.

I enjoyed the beer and I’ll say pick one up and try it, but I’ll warn you of the $16 price tag. When they rang it up and I saw how much, I was like man oh man I didn’t want to spend that much, but I didn’t want to say to the clerk never mind I’ll put this one back; the good thing is that you get lots of liquid for $16. I won’t have it again anytime soon, but I’m glad I tried it. Three Beer Caps for this one.

Throw one back for me ~ cheers!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2011 in Empty Bottles

 

Leave a Reply

 
