RSS

La Merle

08 Feb

La Merle by North Coast Brewing Co

The Blackbird is the English translation of Le Merle, but it sounds better in French. This is probably one of North Coast’s cheaper beers at $7.49, but it’s a very good one. It is a Belgian Style Farmhouse Ale, a style I haven’t had much of, but I recall a few and I enjoyed them.

The ale had pleasant bright notes of fruit like green apple and pears, caramelized white sugar (reminded me of when my wife bakes), yeasty funk, citrus, and hop. One thing I really enjoyed about this beer is the carbonation; the bubbles made lots of the great flavors stick around. The apple and pear were present, the bread/yeast, and I really enjoyed the citrus/hop finish on it. When the beer warmed there was burn from the alcohol, but it wasn’t bothersome.

Took pictures of this beer outdoors just before the sunset and the sun was at a great angle and it made for great beer color that I think I’ve captured. The beer is very drinkable and I still wanted more of it after the bottle was gone; will pick up one of these again, maybe two to share with friends during the upcoming spring BBQ’s. Five Caps for this one, you’ll enjoy it, I guarantee it!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 8, 2011 in Empty Bottles, Five Beer Caps Club

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “La Merle

  1. sabby2000

    February 28, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    wow! 5 caps? nice…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
