RSS

Le Freak

22 Jan

Le Freak by Green Flash Brewing Co

Green Flash Brewing Co is one of the many great breweries in San Diego county; Green Flash’s selection of beers are all highly rated and the ones I’ve tried have been very good.  I’m reviewing Le Freak this time around, it’s labeled as an “extreme ale converging San Diego-style Imperial Ale and Belgian-style trippel. I enjoyed sipping on this beer; keep reading for more of my thoughts.

A very inviting aroma that made me drink it immediately.  I got a bit of funk from the yeast, sweet notes of banana and malt, citrus, and alcohol which is expected with this beer at 9.2 ABV; aromatically a trippel.  Citrus up front and a peppery middle bite with a hint of sugary sweet notes.  The finish was hoppy but fades to the alcohol burn left on tongue.  When the beer warmed a lot more of the Belgian sugary sweet notes came through.

This is a great tasting and overall great beer with a mild body that you will surely like.  Didn’t really pick up on the whole San Diego/Trippel thing, but it was a good tasting beer; pick one up and enjoy it.  The one-man team of CervezaPlease rates this beer four caps on the Kalifornia Beer Rating System.

Throw one back for me ~ cheers!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2011 in Empty Bottles

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Le Freak

  1. gillgrylls

    January 23, 2011 at 6:40 am

    Sounds like a great beer. I like the color of this one. Looks very tasty. Citrus and sweet…peppery…interesting!!

    i like the caps rating!! lol BevMo has these so i added to my order. one of my favorites was Paulaner Oktoberfest Marzen. i swear i could taste a sweet honey flavor in there

     
    • OmarKalifornia

      January 23, 2011 at 6:54 am

      Really enjoyed it; yea peppery, sometimes it has a little bite to it. I’ve had te paulaner marzen and liked that one as well; make a bratwurst burger or dogs with it, perfect!

       
      • Eat D. Puff

        January 24, 2011 at 10:02 pm

        I tasted this when I visited this brewery a couple of weeks ago. Unfortunately, it was somewhere near the 10th beer I tasted that day so I don’t remember if I liked it or not…

         

Leave a Reply

 
