RSS

Infinium

19 Jan

This is a collaboration beer between Sam Adams and Germany’s Weihenstephan Brewery. When I learned of the beer I read the brewers had created a new beer style under the German Reinheinstgebot beer purity law; sounded very interesting. The purity law states that all beer should be brewed of only four ingredients, malt, hops, water, and yeast. The beer is elegantly packaged and it’s corked; it appears to have been released in time for people to toast with during the holidays. When I uncorked the beer, it sounded just like champagne; a loud pop!

This had alcohol in the aroma and a some yeasty funk, nothing more. I thought I should have used a glass flute and it would have helped with the aroma, but I don’t think it would have made a difference; there really wasn’t a thing I could smell besides mostly alcohol. Granny Smith apples and malt were the only two things I could taste; the beer was slightly tart but did not make you pucker; I wish I had more to say but this is it.

I really didn’t care for the beer and I thought it was a big disappointment to put it bluntly, but this is what you get when you go exploring and trying new beers, it’s never a guaranteed hit. The small label that gave you a bit of background on the beer, read that combined, the breweries had over 1000 years of brewing experience, something that didn’t show up in the beer. For this being a collaboration beer and one that cost $19.99 a bottle, they could have done a better job. Perhaps the strict laws of Reinheinstgebot don’t give you much room to play with in the brewing process, but we’ve all had beers that stick to those same laws and they’ve delighted us with great tasting beer. The positive thing I can say about this beer is that it had a good mouth feel, and if they want to collaborate any further, anything they brew from here on out, has the potential of being much better than what they came up with this time. If a friend has this beer have them pour you a bit so you can try it, it’s better to spend your $20 on your favorite six pack and the change give to charity.

The packaging was great but when it was poured and the flavors were revealed, I ended up buying something worth $18 in packaging. Sorry Infinium but you get my worst rating to date, one cap in the Kalifornia Beer Rating System.

Throw one back for me ~ cheers!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in Empty Bottles

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Infinium

  1. CheezePleezeNow

    January 21, 2011 at 2:51 am

    I didn’t have such a bad take. I knew what to expect going in after reading some reviews. It’s very Champagne-like without a lot of flavor.

    My interpretation of Sam Adams marketing plan is that they are going for the people who have heard about craft beer and are tired of Bud, Coors & Miller. Whereas some of their beers are fairly tasty, most are bland so as not to shock the taste buds of those Bud drinkers.

    Although a valiant effort, Infinium is just another beer marketed to the American Lager drinkers. Now, if Jim Koch had any balls…

     
    • OmarKalifornia

      January 22, 2011 at 8:54 pm

      I didn’t go reading reviews on it, just caught more of the hype and news when it information was released. You could be right, but I think they wanted something simple to toast with during the Holiday, but it was just bland.

       

Leave a Reply

 
