RSS

Library Ale House

08 Nov

Library Ale House, Santa Monica CA

This location is often mentioned as a bar with a good beer selection and I don’t work far from Santa Monica, so it was just a matter of time before I set foot in this place; three other guys walked into the bar with me that night, @Diskedo, @NorwalkPhil, and @LaNonStop.  I’ve driven by this place a few times and I’ve seen how crowded it can get, so I planned on getting here early to avoid the big crowd and be able to enjoy my sips of beer; this would also allow us to leave early and go down to Abbot Kinney Blvd for First Friday and get something to eat from one of the dozens of food trucks that park along the boulevard.

6 Rivers Brewing IPA

The first round of beers was ordered and I started with a 6 Rivers Brewery IPA.  Albeit dark, the beer had a great amber color and the aroma of the flowery hops and citrus was too; I really enjoyed the hoppy bitter finish to it.  This is the first time I had something from the 6 Rivers Brewery and will look forward to their other selections, as I liked this beer.

Firestone Walker Velvet Merlin

The second round was poured and I opted for an Oatmeal Stout by Firestone Walker called Velvet Merlin.  I had this beer during the LA Beer Week and it was at the point where my taste buds stopped functioning, but I knew I had to try it again as I really enjoyed the body of it.  The beer had strong malt aroma that gave way to roasted coffee.  I liked the smooth creamy flavor, the roasted malt and coffee, and the faint bitter chocolate finish.

Bear Republic Racer 5 IPA

The third and final brew was Racer 5 IPA by Bear Republic.  It had a crisp flavor with piny citrus notes and a slightly dry bitter finish; ¡estupenda cerveza!  I enjoyed the beautiful scent of the hops in this beer and I’m starting to notice different aromas from them, but I still don’t know which is which and it prompted me to search online for the kinds of hops that are used to make this beer. Chinook, Cascade, Columbus, and Centennial are the varieties used; a lot right?  This left me even more puzzled as I was hoping to identify one or two of the hops and associate them with the great aroma of the beer.

The Library Ale House has a good variety of beers on tap, great atmosphere, and attentive service, but if you don’t like crowded places, get here early or avoid it all together.  They have a food menu to pair your beers with; the ahi tuna and fried chicken I’ll vouch for, good stuff.  I’ll give them 4 beer caps on overall experience as everything went smooth, but I do have one bone to pick with them.  We asked for one of the TV’s to be tuned to the Lakers game, but because someone was watching the Clippers on that TV, they didn’t change the channel; really? Who the fuck watches the Clippers in this town?!  Don’t let that last comment detract you from visiting them, as they do have a good draft selection, and if you are a fan of the Belgian stuff, they got lots of that too.

The night ended on Abbot Kinney Blvd where we inhaled some pork and duck tacos from the Flying Pig truck; a great way to end a Friday night.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 8, 2010 in Beer Outings

 

One response to “Library Ale House

  1. Sabby2000

    November 9, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    nice lookin joint…..like the darkness of it…..
    mmmmm racer 5…….

     

Leave a Reply

 
