RSS

Homemade & Home-brewed

11 Oct

I didn’t plan it this way, but I’m glad this post turned out to be all about homemade. I got to enjoy a good home brew shipped to me and I made some pizzas to go along with it. Big thanks to Steve for sending me a pair of bottles from his home brewed stash. I made two pizzas, one is a BBQ Chicken and the other is White; food pics below and recipes to follow.

This was a very refreshing beer; loved the body, the color, and it had great flavor that was perfect with the pizza.

Loved the color of the Ale

Roasted Garlic Paste & BBQ Chicken

Garlic Cream Sauce

Doh!

Balsamic Glazed Red Onions & BBQ Chicken

Garlic Paste, Garlic Sauce, & Cheese

On The Grill

Done & Served

Once I learn or come up with a recipe I play it by ear with the ingredients; the recipes should be good for one pizza of the size you see rolled out up above; yields 8 slices. BTW I don’t make my own dough; I save the time it takes to make the dough to drink beer. The bags of prepared dough I buy are just over 3 lbs and makes two pizzas. You can make this pizza in the oven or on the grill; the instructions are for the grill.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

1 chicken breast cooked and cubed

½ lb shredded mozzarella

6 slices of Gouda

¾ of a red onion thinly sliced

2 tbsp sugar

4 tbsp of balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp olive oil

½ a bunch of fresh cilantro chopped.

Sweet Baby Rays Honey BBQ Sauce (or one of your choice)

Sauté cubed chicken with some bbq sauce and set aside. Over medium heat sauté onions until they sweat then add the sugar and balsamic vinegar; cook until there is no vinegar left on the pan and onions are caramelized, set aside. On the grill add the rolled out dough without ingredients, let only bottom side cook, about 4-5 minutes depending on thickness; remove dough from grill and flip over to grill the other side. On the side that’s been griled add the ingredients, start with spreading the bbq sauce, amount to your liking but go easy, you don’t want a soggy pizza. Top with mozzarella, Gouda, chicken, and balsamic glazed onions. Place pizza back on grill for another 4-5 minutes and transfer to a large baking sheet that’s been sprinkled with cornmeal; leave baking sheet on top of grill for another 3 to 4 minutes. Transferring to a baking rack will allow the cheese to melt and slow down the cooking process of the dough, and adding a bit of cornmeal to the rack will prevent the pizza from sticking to it. When you remove pizza from grill, cut and top with the chopped cilantro.

White Pizza

2 to 3 garlic heads (how much do you love garlic?)

4 tbsp butter

2 cloves of garlic crushed

¾ of a cup heavy whipping cream

½ lb of mozzarella

¼ cup of Romano cheese

8 tbsp of ricotta to dollop

1 bag of arugula

Heat oven to 350º or roast garlic on grill. Slice a bit off the top of the garlic heads, drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper; cover with foil and roast in oven for about 25 minutes. Take garlic out of oven and squeeze the cloves out of the heads, this should be easy to do, as the garlic has softened. Crush the garlic with a fork, add a bit of olive oil, mix to a paste and set aside. Heat a pan over low heat, add butter and once it begins to bubble add the crushed garlic cloves; be careful not to overcook the garlic as they can get bitter, we only want to use them to flavor the butter. Once the garlic has browned on one side flip to the other side, this whole process should take no more than 3 minutes, remove garlic from pan and discard. Add the whipping cream to the butter, when it begins to boil add the Romano cheese, and whisk until all ingredients are combined. You want to let the white sauce reduce, let it coat a spoon, and once it does this set it aside. I don’t add salt, but you can do so if you like. Follow the same instructions from above recipe to cook one side of the pizza; once you’ve flipped to the grilled side, coat the pizza with the garlic paste, white sauce, mozzarella, and dollop ricotta. Once all topped, place on grill and follow the same instructions of moving to a baking sheet. When you remove from grill, add arugula, cut, and serve.

I learned that grilling one side of the pizza first, topping, and then placing on grill to finish cooking helps it from getting soggy and it cooks much easier and you’ll get crunchy dough. I reheat all of the precooked ingredients in the microwave (I tend to make pizzas solo), but if you have help in the kitchen, try to prepare ingredients just before you start grilling pizzas.

PS
Here is a shot of my first and second attempt of pizzas; good thing I didn’t get discouraged with my pizza topping or rolling dough abilities, it gets better with practice.


 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2010 in CasaMadrigal

 

8 responses to “Homemade & Home-brewed

  1. Sabby2000

    October 11, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    thank you for the kind words…even tho that beer was not what I thought it would be…..will send you 2 of my new ones and see how they turned out…..

     
    • OmarKalifornia

      October 18, 2010 at 10:20 pm

      I thought it was good, maybe it got “better” in the bottle, although I know how it is to expect more out of what you make; I’m the same way when it comes to the food I make, I get thumbs up, but in my head I’m already trying to make changes to make it better.

       
    • OmarKalifornia

      October 18, 2010 at 10:23 pm

      I just found these notes on my phone, I did not include them in the post because I could not find them on my phone. You can tell me what you think about how I found the beer- “light banana notes, light body, good sweet notes with a light bitter finish”.

       
  2. Dee

    October 18, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    all things holy! that garlic cream sauce, watch out Stinking Rose!

     
    • OmarKalifornia

      October 18, 2010 at 10:24 pm

      Dee, haha! Have you tried makin it? So easy and you can toss your fav pasta with it, not just for pizzas.

       
  3. Brown Road Chronicles

    January 4, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Neat blog, I’ve always thought it would be cool to home-brew some beer. The food pics look fabulous too. Best of luck with the writing.

    My Favorite: Probably Sam Adams Boston Lager, pretty much a name brand now, but we started drinking it back in the early 90’s when my wife and I lived in Boston and Sam Adams was still a small brewer. I’m still a big fan!

    Hope you have a great 2011!

     
    • OmarKalifornia

      January 7, 2011 at 5:41 am

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      You’re right about it being considered a macro and not a microbrewery, but they still put out good stuff. During these winter months, I like picking up their winter classics case.

      Cheers to you in 2011 and same with the blog, wish you the best.

       

Leave a Reply

 
