RSS

Field Trip To The Bruery

20 Sep


On a recent Friday I left work early; the reason? I wanted to drink beer.  It was a fuck you to work and responsibilities.  It was a moment to be worry free, like when Tom Sawyer would skip school to go swimming in the Mississippi river with his pal Huckleberry Finn; I had my pal with me that day,@Diskedo.  We couldn’t drink on an empty stomach so before we headed out to Placentia, we stopped by Pinoy Pinay in Cerritos (serves Filipino food) to stock up the tanks with essential proteins like pork and beef.  After the must have food, we were on our way to The Bruery.

The Bruery’s taste room is small; it has a feel of an illegal warehouse serving beer during prohibition.  The taste room is located next to their brewing tanks, giving the place a good vibe.  We walked in shortly after it opened and only a handful of people were there, but after an hour the place was busy.  We met Craig, a fellow beer enthusiast whom we shared some good beer conversations with and told us that even though the place was busy, it was not as packed as the place can get.

We started with Mischief, a beer with an incredible aroma, very floral with citrus and hop notes, total bliss.  Belgian Ale and my lord is it good!  The Ale is silky and has a wonderful citrus flavor that makes it slightly tart.  The hop flavor leads to bitterness and a bit of spiciness.  I really enjoyed drinking this beer and the complexity of it was perfect, mischievous.

Autumn Maple is what we ordered second. Belgian Brown Ale that had good flavors and had character while it was cold; at 10% ABV and warm, the alcohol became too strong and sipping the beer became unpleasant and I could not finish the beer.  There were few things I liked about the beer, like the scent of nutmeg and the taste and aroma of molasses.  The info card on the beer states it’s brewed with lots of yams and other spices, where the sweet dark notes probably come from. The beer reminded me of pouring syrup over pancakes.

We said good-bye to The Bruery with Trade Winds, a Tripel.  It pours a golden color and has a nice herbaceous citrus scent.  A light body compared to the usual Tripels and has a bit of carbonation, but not a flaw; it can be a good refreshing summer beer with lots of character.  Great flavor from the fruits and yeast and I liked the spicy finish from the Thai basil; when I read it had Thai basil I thought this is going to be interesting, but it added good depth to the beer.

I had a great time at The Bruery and I honestly can’t wait to do it again.  I went there with the sole purpose of trying their seasonal brews on tap and I’m glad I decided to come here instead of a gastro pub I had in mind. The Bruery is inventive and there were certainly some misses for my taste buds, but for the most part they have solid brews and I’ve become a fan.  I look forward to their spring seasonal brews, none of which I’ve had, but was told by Craig that Humulus Lager is some good stuff.  The Bruery gets 4 caps for an over all experience, they would get 5 caps if they were to brew some IPA’s, but apparently it’s a piece of the market they don’t want any of, and for good reason, they make great Belgian Ale’s. My hat’s off to them!

Mischief

Autumn Maple

Trade Winds Tripel

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2010 in Beer Outings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Field Trip To The Bruery

  1. Craig Hogan

    September 21, 2010 at 5:19 am

    Good to meet you.

    I love Trade Winds with Autumn Maple a close second. I must admit though I like Mischief it ran a distant third in my book.

    BTW, I was at the LA fair (in Pomona) and found by chance my personal Bruery fav “Humulas Lager” had won a silver medal. I drank copious quantities of my favorite flavor. This is the only spot left that still has humulas

    If you are at the LA fair check out the beer judging room they had many creative local (eg, LA,OC, and 909) flavers.

    It was good stuff.

    Craig

     
    • OmarKalifornia

      September 21, 2010 at 5:59 am

      I certainly liked some of the characteristics of Autumn Maple, but was put off by the high alcohol as it warmed. I’m heading to the fair this upcoming Saturday; thanks for the heads up!

      October 17th I’ll be at Union Station – http://www.labeerweek.com/unionStation.php

       
  2. Dee

    September 30, 2010 at 5:37 am

    you are killing me right now! its 10:30pm and you just made me crave lechon and liver sauce.

     

Leave a Reply

 
