RSS

Cerise by Founders

22 Aug

The appearance of the beer was just like the Consecration I had a few weeks ago, but this wasn’t a sour ale and it had less carbonation. The Ale carried an aroma of fruit, wheat, and cherries. It had a nice cherry flavor with a sweet finish, lightly tart but not too dry. You get a nice balance between the tart and sweetness. Malt notes, but the sweetness you taste comes from the cherries and not the malt.

I’ve had my share of flavored beers and it’s rare when I enjoy them from first to last sip and this became another one of those beers. For me it was a beer that I enjoyed during the first few sips, it was refreshing and light, but the novelty on the palate wore off shortly after. I’ve learned to enjoy a warm beer; especially those last few sips that really let you know what a beer is made of, but with this Ale wouldn’t let me do that. I concluded that this beer should be drank cold, but sip it fast because if it gets warm you might not like the taste of it.

I don’t recall how many beers I’ve had from Founders Brewery, but out of all the ones I’ve tried, this has been my least favorite thus far; two beer caps Cerise.


 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2010 in Empty Bottles

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Cerise by Founders

  1. luv4bbq

    August 22, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    (wipes a tear from corner of his eye)….lol…..I have determined this is a summer time hot beer that needs to be pounded…..not savored…..aka”lawnmower beer”….I think this would appeal to the ladies alot who like the Cherry Wheat/blue moons…..

    p.s. side note: that is also a 2009 batch…..2010 is already out…..

     
    • OmarKalifornia

      August 23, 2010 at 5:01 am

      Yes definitely a “chugdown” if you will, type of beer. I don’t think the 2010 batch would make any difference to make me like flavored ales. I agree with you, this is a beer that the ladies would certainly like; mild and fruity.

       

Leave a Reply

 
