RSS

Hopslam & Burgers

09 Aug

I was introduced to this beer during the first beer trade I had with my buddy Steve.  At the time I wasn’t drinking beers with a strong hop flavor or embracing them like I do today.  When I first drank it I knew right away this was a style I would enjoy and sad that I only got one in the trade; with the last shipment earlier in the year I ended up with six of them!  I surely treasured them as these are only brewed and sold once a year, but when Steve knew I had some left he told this rookie beer guy to get to drinking or the hop flavor and aroma would be gone; I’m still wet behind the ears, but I now know for next time.

An aroma of fruit and hops that’s truly sublime and very few beers has such blend.  The ale is brewed with honey, the combination of honey and malt sweetness combines nicely with the hop.  It’s a medium body beer with a bit of bitterness, but fantastic from the first sip to finish, a hopslam!  As the beer got warm it became sweeter, gave a fruitier aroma, and the alcohol taste got stronger just by a bit.

I really enjoy drinking this beer and it’s the reason why I was saving it as if the apocalypse were upon us.  I drank two last weekend and I’m bummed that I only have one left; like I mentioned above, it’s only brewed once a year and I hope to get some next year.  I love summer because I love grilling, but hate the heat; this summer here in Los Angeles we’ve averaged mid 80’s and I hope I don’t jinx it by talking about it.  The beer goes well with anything grilled and this past weekend I made some burgers.

I have one beer left and I’m thinking I’ll have a big piece of steak with it to say goodbye to this wonderful beer.  If you’ve never had the pleasure of trying this beer I recommend you get a hold of it because it rates a perfect five beer caps.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2010 in Beer & Food, Five Beer Caps Club

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Hopslam & Burgers

  1. Sabby2000

    August 14, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    next time I will send you a shipment with straight labels! hahahaha

     
    • omarkalifornia

      August 14, 2010 at 9:27 pm

      No idea it wasn’t on straight; makes me wonder if these are labeled by hand and not on a conveyor labeling belt.

       
  2. Dee

    August 15, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    Food Pron!

     

Leave a Reply

 
