RSS

Stone 14th Anniversary Emperial IPA

27 Jul

I tend to drink alone when I sit to do a review, but this time I had the pleasure of sharing the pint with the lovely @ElizaDolores.  She is adventurous when it comes to beers and has never said no to me when I’ve poured beer.  The last time we shared a meal I brought some Ranger IPA to the table and she really liked the hop flavor of it, so I knew she might like the 14.

This is the first anniversary beer I have from Stone Brewery and I enjoyed it; makes me wonder what I’ve missed the past 13 years.  I read on the bottle that the brewers took a trip to England in search of inspiration and to learn more on the India Pale Ale style; always a good thing to do some research right?  Just like with all IPA’s. you’ll be able to smell the hops and I whiffed a bit of fruit sweetness from the malt.  It has an excellent hop flavor, the sweetness lingered, and had a peppery/pine finish.  At room temperature it remained the same, nothing overpowered nor rose in flavor, just perfect sips; a perfectly balanced beer.  Eliza noted she liked the color and density, “just yum!”

This beer is deserving of 5 caps.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Stone 14th Anniversary Emperial IPA

  1. Alicia

    July 27, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    This is a cute review! I think you should invite her over more often to be a guest beer reviewer with you 😉

     
  2. Design Nomad

    July 27, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Since all I can handle now is beer, this sounds like something I’d love! Love the photos and the new beer cap rating system!

     
  3. Eliza

    July 28, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    It really is a delicious beer. I very much enjoyed it and had a great time with the company. Anytime Cerveza Please wants me back, I’m in!

     

Leave a Reply

 
