RSS

Franziskaner Hefe-Weisse

24 Jul

A wheat beer with citrus aroma, hints of orange and a bit of sweetness from the malt in the flavor department.  The beer is simple and refreshing, but after having different Hef’s the last few years, I’ve fallen out of love with it, and I think you can find other Hefeweizen with character that will be superior to the Franziskaner; however, don’t pass on it if someone offers you a pour, it’s a good quality beer, just not a title holder in my book.

A little history on me and the Franziskaner Hefeweizen.  This beer and style is one I began to drink often as I had yet to become adventurous in my beer choices during my transition from mass produced to craft beers.  It was easy to pick up the Franziskaner as my local grocery store always had it in stock, so this specific Hef and me go way back.  A Hefeweizen is not complex in flavor, which is why I introduce it to beer drinkers from the insipid aisle, and more recently my brother, who thoroughly enjoyed it.  I would recommend and say that this is a safe route to take for anyone that would like to try a new style of beer; introduce your palate to a sip that wraps around your tongue, and not something that washes down easily.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2010 in Empty Bottles

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Franziskaner Hefe-Weisse

  1. The Gin Doctor

    July 24, 2010 at 8:07 am

    Since I’m not a big fan of the hef I rarely have one in the fridge. I may have to take your advice and keep one around to visitors,

     
  2. Sabby2000

    July 27, 2010 at 12:15 am

    still have never tried this beer….just dont like hefe’s……but like them a helluva lot more than WIT’s!!!!

     
    • The Gin Doctor

      July 27, 2010 at 5:23 am

      Sabby2000 and I are on the same page on this one. WIT’s are SHIT!

       
  3. Carolyn

    July 2, 2014 at 9:53 pm

    I see a lot of interesting content on your blog. You have to spend a
    lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is a tool that creates unique, SEO friendly posts in couple of seconds, just search in google – laranita’s free content source

     
  4. Hugh

    August 30, 2014 at 6:57 am

    I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time, there
    is an online tool that creates unique, google friendly posts in minutes,
    just type in google – laranitas free content source

     
  5. Eat Drink Puff

    August 30, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    This is on tap at 888 now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
