RSS

Big Bear Black Stout

17 Jul

This is the first beer I’ve had from Bear Republic Brewery and I picked a good one. I actually chose this by accident, when I visited Lone Hill Liquor a few weekends ago. I went with the intention of grabbing a few Lagers, something smooth and refreshing for the upcoming hot summer days, as I knew the June gloom wasn’t going to last long. I actually paced back and forth down the beer fridges for about ten minutes before settling on a Bear Republic. I’ve put off drinking their beers and have discriminated against them simply because I’m not a fan of their labels; I’ve learned my lesson, don’t judge a book by its cover. When I grabbed the bottle I thought I read Black Lager, but I was surprised when I got home and it read Black Stout… sammama bitch! I did not want to drink this beer during the summer, but it had been in the fridge for days now and every time I opened it, it gave me a mischievous look. Today on a day when the temperature reached 96°, I popped it open and drank it, and still am as I write this review at 10:00 PM; I love it when a beer gets warm and you get to taste flavors not there when cold.

The beers aroma was of chocolate, coffee, and molasses, as well as the flavor, but with an accompanying smoky taste. For the first time I was able to taste the “bready” notes I’ve read on so many reviews; I was beginning to think that bread notes were a bunch of BS or that I was just one of those people not able to distinguish that flavor note. I loved the creaminess of it and how it wrapped your tongue in flavor.

How wrong was I by not wanting to drink a Stout during the summer. I learned and realized that it doesn’t matter the season we are in to be able to enjoy a good tasting beer, regardless of the style. I also failed to remember that this style of beer has been enjoyed by many generations prior to refrigeration. The spoiled beer drinker in me has made me a selective/picky beer drinker, but I must let it go and try to enjoy them all, no matter the style, season, or label; this is one pint of Stout by Bear Republic I recommend you drink.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2010 in Empty Bottles

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Big Bear Black Stout

  1. The Gin Doctor

    July 17, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    I’m very fond of a good stout and would usually drink them during cooler weather but you’ve convinced me to expand my horizons.

     
  2. Sabby2000

    July 20, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    gotta try Racer x and Racer 5…..here they are to die for……

     
  3. Sabby2000

    July 20, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    nice review too btw

     

Leave a Reply

 
