RSS

Pliny the Elder

13 Jul

If I’m ever asked to name one of my favorite beers, this is one that always comes to mind; it’s up there on my Top 10 Favorite Beers. A Double IPA (Imperial Pale Ale) from Russian River, a strong beer at 100 IBU’s and 8% ABV. I don’t want to get into a habit of talking IBU’s or ABV’s, frankly because I think it’s pointless for many beers; however, for this post I mention it to paint a picture. The IBU numbers talk about how bitter a beer can be, so 100 IBU’s is way up there; click on the link if you would like to learn more about IBUs. The ABV is the Alcohol by Volume.

This beer is extremely hoppy and bitter, both lingering on your palate from beginning to end. I recall reading somewhere that out of the five elements of taste, for most people, bitterness is the least pleasant, but in beers for me, it’s something I look forward to and enjoy. The fruitiness of the beer did not show up until the beer was completely warm, at which point the bitterness became even stronger. It’s a very simple review as it’s not a complicated beer, simple and tasty, just how any good IPA should be.

I love thee oh Pliny!

I’ve been drinking and reading on Sundays, the day I tend to do a lot of the grueling beer research. The weather has been great here in SoCal, the awful summer heat is not here yet, but it’s coming. I’ve sat in the patio and enjoyed the cool weather and I’ve taken pictures there, so far I like the results, I especially like how the color of the beers have come through. I’ll be off this upcoming Sunday and won’t have the time to research, so the one man team of CervezaPlease will post again midweek; stick around!

A perfect Five Beer Caps for my favorite beer!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Pliny the Elder

  1. yhbhs

    July 13, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    just stumbled upon your beer site from design nomad!

     
  2. Sabby2000

    July 14, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    well said…..so glad I had the opp to try this……

     

Leave a Reply

 
