RSS

Blues & Brews

05 Jul

On Saturday July 3rd I received an impromptu invitation to the Claremont Village Blues & Brew; it came from my good pal @VisibleDale. The point of the event was more about promoting the local merchants than it was about beer.  We realized that it wasn’t about the beer when we got to our second stop, a location that was pouring Stella and Newcastle out of bottles; yea, my sentiments exactly.  Although it was a beautiful day and you could hear good music as you walked to the different stores, the reason for me being there was beer, not stimulating the local economy; well maybe I did by purchasing a $35 ticket that gave me the right to ten 2.5oz pours.  I had a good time hanging out with Dale and overall the event was fun, although not great, but I got a chance to try beers I’ve never had before from Dale Bros and from Hangar 24, and it was good to hear some Blues as we walked the streets.  I tried and liked a summer beer from Dale Bro’s called Pacific Daylight, a good crisp and refreshing Lager with character.  The Hangar 24 Pale Ale I tried, I don’t remember much about it.

We felt we didn’t have enough beer, even after ten pours, so we thought it would be a good idea to stop at The Back Abbey, a place with a good selection of Belgium beers and good options on food.  Dale started with a Triple Karmeliet and I went with Delirium’s Tremens.  The Tremens beer is a Strong Pale Ale that has an 8.5% ABV.  I’ve never had this beer and found it dry, fruity, and with a hoppy aroma; Dale liked his.  The second round was ordered and we were served a Blanche De Bruxelles and a Celebrator, a white and a double bock.  The Blanche De Bruxelles is a Witbier and that’s not filtered, it was a cloudy yellow.  In terms of the flavor I found it sweet, with lots of orange/citrus flavors; I’ve had better white beers.  Dale liked his and had I known it was a double dock, I probably would have ordered it; I only realized it was a double bock until I came home and was editing the pictures, it says so on the glass.

It was a fun day, and you can’t ask for more when you are with a good pal and enjoying beers.  We’ll have to do this again very soon Dale!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2010 in Beer Outings

 

4 responses to “Blues & Brews

  1. theoldstogie

    July 5, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Good times with great friends. Too bad the beer choices were minimal. Maybe I’ll volunteer to round up more brewers for next year’s gig. Thank goodness for the Back Abbey coming to the rescue and allowing us to try some new brews.

    I was so inspired that I dropped by Total Wine yesterday and picked up 4 750ml bottle and a can of Old Chub…

     
    • omarkalifornia

      July 6, 2010 at 3:02 am

      Nice! I forbade myself from buying new stuff until I at least drink and post half of the stuff I have in the cellar, but might have to go out and get some summer beers.

       
  2. Sabby2000

    July 6, 2010 at 2:36 am

    looks like you’ve been busy!!!!

     
    • omarkalifornia

      July 6, 2010 at 3:01 am

      I’d say so. I need to find me a sponsor and head out to MI, a beer festival tour wouldn’t hurt.

       

Leave a Reply

 
