RSS

Huma Lupa Licious

21 Jun

An IPA beer by Shorts Brewing pictured with what will be my summer read, Medium Raw by Anthony Bourdain.

It’s good to have friends in the right places, specifically, in states with good breweries.  I tried this last year during the first beer exchange I had with my beer buddy Steve, he lives in Michigan.  Lots of good breweries are in Michigan and sadly their contents aren’t distributed in Kalifornia.

As I poured,  I immediately smelled the hops.  It’s a very bitter beer with the hop herb hitting you on the back end.  Lots of people described it with hints of citrus, but I didn’t get any at all.  As it warmed, it became malty with very faint notes of sweetness and the hop aroma gave way to the smell of alcohol.  This beer is right up my alley as I have a tendency to like bitter and hoppy beers.  I would like to drink it again and have it served with a thick pork chop and caramelized onions; the sweetness would probably cut through the bitterness and blend well with the great hoppyness of the beer.

This being my first beer review has turned out to be harder than I thought.  I took notes and thought I would be able to write something with ease, it wasn’t so, yet it was fun.  What will I drink next? Same Bat Channel, stick around…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 21, 2010 in Empty Bottles

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Huma Lupa Licious

  1. Sabby2000

    June 22, 2010 at 1:23 am

    hey Max! love the site already! very cool!!!! Glad you liked the beer, its one of my fav’s for sure…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
